IKEA

January 21, 2012

Well, after the holidays and two rounds of illness, I can finally say I’m back.  My head has been swirling with things I need to write about.  Maybe that explains that last bout of sickness, a major migraine.  I am happy to be back at my blog again and to tell everyone about our latest projects.
During my hiatus from the blog, Sean (the hubs) and I made a trip to IKEA.   We needed some new storage options for our home.  We looked at several options by starting at World Market but the color and the look is not what we were looking for.
  Another option we looked at was Pottery Barn but that was well beyond our budget.  But it did have the look we were going for.
  After researching and discussing what we wanted, we settled on IKEA.  It had the white look and the many options we wanted.
Being the planner, my husband had the great idea to download the catalog and circle everything we would want to see in person.  We also signed up for IKEA Family which gives discounts to members.  It turns out that our IKEA Family Card paid off by providing us with some free breakfast and coffee at the store and discounts off of our purchases. The discounts offered change each month and  items available  are posted on the Ikea website.
Here are some pictures of our IKEA finds and I will update the pics as I fill the bookshelves.
I also looked at another slipcover for our couch.  But IKEA does not have the color that would go with our living room.  It got me thinking: do people make IKEA slipcovers?   With some internet searching, I found this great website with many good IKEA center ideas  just click here:  Shelter Pop
After looking around, I got the idea of dyeing the natural slip cover.  So I think this means that I am now on the hunt for a cheap IKEA slipcover in case the whole project goes wrong.   See how one project can inspire many more?

4 Responses to “IKEA”

  1. Linda Tustin Says:

    wow- Amanda- love your creative process.

  2. Emily Says:

    I am an IKEA junky. I need some serious rehab. Did you guys wander through the lighting section? So many mix and match shades. Good stuff. Loving your blog Amanda!


Leave a comment