OH BABY!!

September 25, 2012

I’ve arrived at that time in one’s life when it seems everyone around you has started having babies.   I have truly enjoyed watching my friends and family go through this exciting time in their lives — doing my share of attending and hosting many baby showers.  I am very excited to share some ideas for a thoughtful gift to make yourself and add to any shower gift from a registry. These items are so cute and they add the perfect personal touch to any gift!

For awhile now, I have been making custom burp cloths and tag blankets for my friends and family.  Both items take about an hour to cut and sew.  I truly enjoy picking out whimsical fabrics that are cute but still have some style.   I even get follow-up requests from these future Mommies-to-be, asking me to make more burp cloths and tag blankets. They are a huge hit!

Here are some of my latest creations:

 
….which leads me to share my other favorite children’s gifts, some of which I have already given to friends and family or am planning to give in the future.  Here are some of my favorite things:
 
 
   

1. Dave Darinko Red uglydolls.com  2. Bashful Schnauzer  jellycat.com  3. Scribbles A Really Giant Coloring Book  Amazon.com  4. Kissing Giaffe Pillow  jonathanadler.com

As for me, my husband and I have not yet decided where babies fit into our lives but when the time comes, of course, I will be ready.  Here is one of my favorite nurseries.  It comes from the home of  Jenna Lyons, Creative Director at JCrew.   I love how the space is not a filled with typical baby decorations but has a much more stylistic approach.  My favorite part of the room is the artwork mobile made by Alexander Calder.

I hope these items inspire you the next time you are looking for the perfect baby shower/kids’ birthday gift or even for your own home.

Leave a comment